Grandmother

Saturday 26th of March my mother left me a message telling me my grandmother, Sofie, just died. It was sad news to get, not suprising considered her health theese last weeks. But still, to loose someone we love is always sad. It does not matter how well prepared we are.

So I will write some lines about my grandmother.

Born March 10th 1914, she just turned 97.  Growing up as one of the oldest in a large group of siblings, I believe she had 9 brothers and sister. She had to start working very young. Then she went to school learning housekeeping. To pay for the schooling she came back to work. Coming back home to Haugsdal she married my grandfather Fredrik. Grandmother worked at the farm while taking care of her 4 children. When her mother died her youngest brother and sister moved to stay with her and Fredrik.

Grandmother was often asked to do the cooking when big events like weddings, christenings and so on happened in the community. Grandmother always helped. She were a member of a local group raising money for the Norwegian Sailors Mission.

Travelling to America with her brother in law and his wife, going to Australia with her brother and seeing Hong Kong and China with my parents, she managed to see some very different parts of the world.

For me Grandmother was someone special. She always made us feel welcome and she always showed interest in our doings. As I grew older I also learned to appreciate her sence of humor and her interest in what happened in the world. She did crosswordpussels and always had to read the newspaper. We had many talks about Israel, Afghanistan, The US and their presidents, environmental issues and other political issues in the headlines, both national and international. We did not always agree but that didn’t matter, she still cared about us and the world we are living in.

Grandmother has lef this world to be with her savior. I miss my grandmother.

Leave a Reply

